American Association of University Women Fairbanks Affiliate Board of Directors meeting March 28, 2017 Home of Brenda Birdsall

Board Members present: Gretchen Murphy (president), Gael Murakami (treasurer), Carla Willetto (VP membership), Margaret Soden (president-elect), Kayt Sundwood (newsletter editor), Shirley Liss (Equal Pay Day chair), Leslie McCartney (scholarship chair), Brenda Birdsall

Board Members absent: Pat Babcock (VP program), Rita Osborne (secretary), Ritchie Musick (past president)

President Gretchen Murphy called the meeting to order at 6:34pm. A quorum was present.

Approval of Agenda: the agenda was amended to include a House Tour report (attached). The agenda was approved by consensus.

Minutes: Gael moved, Leslie seconded that *the minutes from the February 28, 2017 board meeting be approved.* **Motion passed.**

Financial Report: Gael presented the financial report for February 2017 (report attached). Total balance on hand was \$9478.04. Disbursements included a meeting room expense/donation to FRA of \$50. There is one pending new member payment to be made. The board discussed the anticipated costs to be incurred with the Scholarship Luncheon in April.

Scholarship Committee Report: Leslie distributed her report (attached). The scholarships will be presented at the April luncheon to Catherine (Kitty) Berner and Barbara Van Flein. The committee presented some issues that need to be discussed and recommendations made for the future. It was recommended that the report be published in the April Newsletter, with follow-up discussion at the May membership meeting. The issues included: better clarity on what we mean by asking that the applicant "reside in Alaska's interior"; clarity on eligibility; and what is an "educational project". We also talked about how to follow up on what recipients did with their scholarship money. The Ann Rhian Scholarship will be presented by Margaret Soden and the Nancy Johnson Scholarship will be presented by Margret Van Flein.

Equal Pay Day activities: this is a national AAUW Day of Action. Shirley is rewriting the opinion piece she wrote and circulated to members via email. It was suggested that she send it to the Fairbanks Daily News-Miner as a "Community Perspective" piece or a Letter to the Editor. Brenda has arranged to donate her "day" at KUAC to advertise this special day. Carla brought the Pay Day candy bars with flyers that were prepared at the annual meeting and they will be distributed to locations on campus, various legislative and municipal leader's offices, and at the Fabulous Feminist Fund Raiser event April 8.

Membership Report: annual renewal for 2017-2018 will start April 1. We have one new member to bring our total membership to 58. 50 year certificates will be presented at the April meeting.

Program Report: a flyer announcing the Scholarship Luncheon will be prepared and will include both e-mail and phone RSVPs. Margaret moved, Brenda seconded *that the cost of the meal above the member cost of \$20 be absorbed by our Affiliate funds.* **Motion passed**. The luncheon will include presentation of the 50 years membership certificates, presentation and awards to the scholarship winners, and other recognitions.

Nominating Committee Report: Carol Schlentner sent a letter to the Board detailing her efforts to find members to fill positions on the Board (attached). It appears that she contacted almost every member! A big "thank you" goes to her for her efforts considering her very rural and spotty telephone service. Gretchen will send her a note.

House Tour Committee Report: Margaret reported that the committee is still in need of homes for the Tour. We discussed home possibilities and recommendations for publicity.

Miscellaneous Affiliate Needs and Notes: Gretchen reported that information about how to donate to Terry Terrill's daughter's medical needs will be included in the newsletter. A thank you letter was received from the Interior Alaska Center for Non-Violent Living (attached).

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 8:40pm.

Margaret Soden for Rita Osborne, Secretary